BIOGRAPHY

Progressive arty-rock or baroque pop-jazz fusion? The irreducible does not give a damn about labels and for two decades has pursued his creative deliriums at the antipodes of marketing and trendy buzz.

The character is unique. Certainly offbeat, it surprises and clashes in the landscape. His look is reminiscent of the Buffalo Bill of a futuristic western, a leather and rock Gandalf, a half Zappa half Corto Maltese SF adventurer or a lost neo-druid in the 21st century ... What else can be said to locate this friendly oddball who 'one would think straight out of "Back to the Future", except that he is - above all - author, composer, performer, Aries ascendant Aries, and that he also plays, among other instruments, of self-mockery and excess.

 

Certainly offbeat, Chardeau is unlike anyone. Captain Nemo of an unlikely ship, for two decades he has been delivering flamboyant and powerful, rich and colorful retro-futuristic music, somewhere between Chicago, Magma, Spirit, Gotainer, Genesis (Peter Gabriel era) and Stravinsky. Baroque, rock, jazz, classical ... Chardeau draws from all sources as long as they are good. He takes us on musical journeys punctuated by stopovers at 20,000 places on the air, in a symphonic and instinctive odyssey, orchestrated in the American style, eccentric and incredibly musical.

 

Chardeau's career is marked by several discographic milestones: Escales (first eclectic rock opus with his group Chardo's Airlines, in 1989), Data pulsions (1999), Hors scope (released in 2005 in two versions: “Highlight” and “Instrumental session »), IntéGraal (an audio DVD produced in 5 + 1 format, but which has never been published)… Over the course of his opuses, Chardeau has always called upon the cream of French musicians (Bernard Paganotti, Basile Leroux, Claude Salmieri, Didier Malherbe, Bernard Lajudie, arranger Richard Aubert…).

 

He passed a new milestone in 2010 with the album Resilience recorded mainly in Los Angeles with an exceptional cast. Starting with his friends (yes, yes…) Jerry Goodman (the magical violinist of John McLaughlin's Mahavishnu Orchestra, who is artistic director of the album) and Robert Lamm (the keyboard, songwriter and singer from Chicago, a group of which he is a die-hard fan), benevolent angels of Chardeau Circus.

 

According to the principle "the friends of my friends are my friends", also lent themselves to the game the keyboard Brian Auger (Rod Steward, Jimi Hendrix, Led Zeppelin), Chris Pinnick (guitarist from Chicago), bassist Reggie Hamilton (Luther Vandross , John Mellencamp, Seal, Tina Turner), percussionist Lenny Castro (Toto, Stevie Wonder, Red Hot Chili Peppers, Quincy Jones, David Sanborn, Ricky Lee Jones, Wayne Shorter), pianist Shelton Berg (Kiss, Joe Cocker…) and drummer Curt Bisqueira (Elton John, John Fogerty, Nelly Furtado, James Taylor, Dave Steward, Joni Mitchell). On arrival, "a pure slaughter and a sound to die for", exclaim the fans.

Enough to take more interest in the artist, the composer and his incredible musicality! Three albums were released in 2012 to discover or rediscover it. A trilogy first published in digital then edited in early 2013 on vinyl for fans, LP aficionados, curious, lovers of good music, discerning ears, nonconformists and discoverers.

Resilience 2.0> a cast of choice! The last studio album, in 2012 version refocused on ten tracks. A rare encounter to be consumed without moderation!

Ze Best Off > an overview of Chardeau's production over two decades, through 10 titles representative of his exhilarating and eccentric music, ultimately timeless!

For Sync. > soundtrack of an imaginary film! A double album of 24 instrumental tracks (original, alternative or unpublished versions, remastered or remixed) to discover not the artist but the composer, his cinematographic writing and his sumptuous orchestrations.

Continued >>>

Spring 2013 saw the release of Alternative Resilience , composed of alternative remixes of the album “Resilience” concocted by John Van Eps in Houston, who worked with Chicago and that Robert Lamm recommends to him. Revisited, reappropriated, resized, taken to sometimes unexpected sounds and horizons, these remixes breathe new life into Chardeau's musical universe.

 

The studio album Fauves & Pastels was released during the summer of 2014. Recorded between France and the United States, still with an exceptional cast, it continues the collaborations already started (Jerry Goodman, Hank Linderman, Brian Auger, John Van Eps. ..), to which are added Mark Andes (Canned Heat, Spirit, which Chardeau wanted to have), Drew Hester (Foo Fighters) and a big band of brass.

 

Less progressive rock, adopting "west coast" colors. the album is the subject of an almost worldwide digital distribution via the US label Muffin 'Records. The album was then released in France and French-speaking territories via Your Label (PBC Music department) in charge of the record's marketing and promotional strategy.

 

The end of 2015 will be marked by the realization of 2 exceptional concerts, prepared for several months, which took place at Gibus on November 17 and 18, 2015, 4 days after the deadly attacks that shook Paris. A way for Chardeau not to give in to fear and to defend more than ever the freedom of expression that he wears loud and clear. A very intense moment, especially since Chardeau was surrounded by Jerry Goodman, Hank Linderman, John Van Eps, George Hawkins (John Fogerty, Fleetwood Mac, Al Jarreau) and Bob Ramsey (keyboard of Leon Russell), who came specially the United States.

After 2 singles from Fauves & Pastels (Ma psychiatre et Jane Parker) , both clipped, Chardeau publishes an EP of remixes of the title L'Amour Rome Antique (renamed Love Antique for the occasion), a hot and improbable clubbing getaway for Make the fans wait, while waiting for the Sanguines album, which will be released in September 2017.  

It offers 12 titles, a series of portraits more "sociological" than the previous one, with a sound more New York than Californian, a "funky Zappa" touch for instructions and an always exceptional line-up, bringing together the US regulars of Chardeautitude. and some surprises like John McFee (Doobie Brothers) and Walfredo Reyes Jr (Chicago, Santana). From this album will be highlighted the titles Photograf, Pub! and Nature is thus made for summer single.

 

In 2018, the meeting between Chardeau and Alan Simon (Gaïa, Excalibur, Tristan & Yseult ...) gave birth to a crazy project, called The Magical Musical Man , a crazy and intergalactic rock-opera for which Alan Simon signs the libretto and the setting scene. This extraordinary show will take place on November 23, 2019 at the Océanis (Ploemeur, near Lorient, Morbihan) with an exceptional cast. > Find out more about the event

The end of 2019 is also marked by the release, on November 15, of the brand new studio album, In Terra Cognita? , inspired by Chardeau's various journeys across the planet and which is also the music for The Magical Musical Man. The record benefits from international distribution by Cherry Red Records. > Find out more about the new album

If Chardeau didn't exist, we would have to invent it!

© 2020 by L. Records

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • YouTube Social  Icon
  • SoundCloud Social Icon

© 2019 by L. Records

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • YouTube Social  Icon
  • SoundCloud Social Icon

BIOGRAPHIE

Arty-rock progressif ou fusion pop-jazz baroque ? L’irréductible se fout des étiquettes et poursuit depuis deux décennies ses délires créatifs aux antipodes du marketing et des buzz branchés.

Le personnage est singulier. Assurément décalé, il étonne et détonne dans le paysage. Son look évoque pêle-mêle le Buffalo Bill d’un western futuriste, un Gandalf cuir et rock, un aventurier SF moitié Zappa moitié Corto Maltèse ou un néo-druide égaré au XXIe siècle… Que dire d’autre pour situer cet hurluberlu sympathique qu’on croirait tout droit sorti de « Retour vers le futur », si ce n’est qu’il est – surtout – auteur, compositeur, interprète, Bélier ascendant Bélier, et qu’il joue aussi, parmi d’autres instruments, de l’autodérision et de la démesure.

 

Assurément décalé, Chardeau ne ressemble à personne. Capitaine Nemo d’un navire improbable, il livre depuis deux décennies une musique rétro-futuriste flamboyante et puissante, riche et colorée, quelque part entre Chicago, Magma, Spirit, Gotainer, Genesis (époque Peter Gabriel) et Stravinsky. Baroque, rock, jazz, classique... Chardeau puise dans toutes les sources pourvu qu’elles soient bonnes. Il nous embarque pour des périples musicaux ponctués d’escales à 20 000 lieux sur les airs, dans une odyssée symphonique et pulsionnelle, orchestrée à l’Américaine, excentrique et d’une musicalité incroyable.

 

Le parcours de Chardeau est balisé de plusieurs jalons discographiques : Escales (premier opus rock éclectique avec son groupe Chardo’s Airlines, en 1989), Data pulsions (1999), Hors portée (sorti en 2005 en deux versions : « Highlight » et « Instrumental session »), IntéGraal (un DVD audio réalisé en 5+1, mais qui n'est jamais paru)… Au fil de ses opus, Chardeau a toujours fait appel à la crème des musiciens hexagonaux (Bernard Paganotti, Basile Leroux, Claude Salmieri, Didier Malherbe, Bernard Lajudie, l’arrangeur Richard Aubert…).

 

Il passe un nouveau cap en 2010 avec l’album Résilience enregistré pour l’essentiel à Los Angeles avec un casting exceptionnel. A commencer par ses amis (si, si…) Jerry Goodman (le violoniste magique du Mahavishnu Orchestra de John McLaughlin, qui assure la direction artistique de l'album) et Robert Lamm (le clavier, songwriter et chanteur de Chicago, groupe dont il est fan invétéré), anges bienveillants du Chardeau Circus.

 

Selon le principe « les amis de mes amis sont mes amis », se sont aussi prêtés au jeu le clavier Brian Auger (Rod Steward, Jimi Hendrix, Led Zeppelin), Chris Pinnick (guitariste de Chicago), le bassiste Reggie Hamilton (Luther Vandross, John Mellencamp, Seal, Tina Turner), le percussionniste Lenny Castro (Toto, Stevie Wonder, Red Hot Chili Peppers, Quincy Jones, David Sanborn, Ricky Lee Jones, Wayne Shorter), le pianiste Shelton Berg (Kiss, Joe Cocker…) et le batteur Curt Bisqueira (Elton John, John Fogerty, Nelly Furtado, James Taylor, Dave Steward, Joni Mitchell). A l’arrivée, « une pure tuerie et un son à tomber par terre », s’exclament les fans.    

De quoi s'intéresser davantage à l’artiste, au compositeur et à sa musicalité incroyable ! Trois albums sont sortis en 2012 pour le découvrir ou le redécouvrir. Une trilogie  tout d'abord publiée en numérique puis éditée début 2013 sur vinyle pour les fans, aficionados du microsillon, curieux, amateurs de bonne musique, oreilles avisées, anticonformistes et découvreurs.

Resilience 2.0 > un casting de choix ! Le dernier album studio, en version 2012 recentrée sur dix titres. Une rencontre rare à consommer sans modération !

Ze Best Off > un survol de la production de Chardeau sur deux décennies, à travers 10 titres représentatifs de sa musique jubilatoire et excentrique, finalement intemporelle !

For Sync. > bande originale d'un film imaginaire ! Un double album de 24 plages instrumentales (versions originales, alternatives ou inédites, remasterisées ou remixées) pour découvrir non pas l'artiste mais le compositeur, son écriture cinématographique et ses orchestrations somptueuses.

Suite >>>

Le printemps 2013 voit la sortie de Alternative Resilience, composé de remixes alternatifs de l’album « Resilience » concoctés par John Van Eps à Houston, qui a travaillé avec Chicago et que Robert Lamm lui recommande. Revisités, réappropriés, redimensionnés, emmenés vers des sonorités et des horizons parfois inattendus, ces remixes donnent un nouveau souffle, un nouvel éclairage à l’univers musical de Chardeau.

 

L'album studio Fauves & Pastels paraît pendant l'été 2014. Enregistré entre la France et les Etats-Unis, toujours avec un casting exceptionnel,il poursuit les collaborations déjà entamées (Jerry Goodman, Hank Linderman, Brian Auger, John Van Eps...), auxquelles s'ajoutent Mark Andes (Canned Heat, Spirit, que Chardeau tenait à avoir), Drew Hester (Foo Fighters)  et un big band de cuivres.

 

Moins rock progressif, adoptant des couleurs "west coast". l'album fait l'objet d'une distribution numérique quasi mondiale via le label US Muffin' Records. L'album sort ensuite en France et sur les territoires francophones via Your Label (département de PBC Music) en charge de la stratégie marketing et promotionnelle du disque.

 

La fin 2015 sera marquée par la réalisation de 2 concerts exceptionnels, préparés depuis plusieurs mois, qui se sont déroulés au Gibus les 17 et 18 novembre 2015, soit 4 jours après les attentats meurtriers qui ont secoué Paris. Une façon pour Chardeau de ne pas céder à la peur et de défendre plus que jamais la liberté d'expression qu'il porte haut et fort. Un moment très intense, d'autant que Chardeau s'était entouré de Jerry Goodman, Hank Linderman, John Van Eps, George Hawkins (John Fogerty, Fleetwood Mac, Al Jarreau) et de Bob Ramsey (clavier de Leon Russell), venus spécialement des Etats-Unis.

Après 2 singles extraits de Fauves & Pastels (Ma psychiatre et Jane Parker), tous deux clippés, Chardeau publie un EP de remixes du titre L'Amour Rome Antique (rebaptisé Love Antique pour l'occasion), une escapade clubbing hot et improbable pour faire patienter les fans, en attendant l'album Sanguines, qui paraît en septembre 2017. 

​Il propose 12 titres, suite de portraits plus « sociologiques » que le précédent, avec un son plus new-yorkais que californien, une touche « funky Zappa » pour consigne et un line-up toujours exceptionnel, réunissant les habitués US de la Chardeautitude et quelques surprises comme John McFee (Doobie Brothers) et Walfredo Reyes Jr (Chicago, Santana). De cet album seront mis en avant les titres Photograf, Pub! et La nature est ainsi faite pour single d’été.

 

En 2018, la rencontre entre Chardeau et Alan Simon (Gaïa, Excalibur, Tristan & Yseult…) donne naissance à un projet fou, baptisé The Magical Musical Man, un rock-opéra déjanté et intergalactique dont Alan Simon signe le libretto et la mise en scène. Ce show hors-normes se déroulera le 23 novembre 2019 à l’Océanis (Ploemeur, près de Lorient, Morbihan) avec un casting d’exception. > En savoir plus sur l’événement

Cette fin 2019 est aussi marquée par la sortie, le 15 novembre, du tout nouvel album studio, In Terra Cognita?, inspiré par les divers voyages de Chardeau à travers la planète et qui est d’ailleurs la musique du spectacle The Magical Musical Man. Le disque bénéficie d’une distribution internationale par Cherry Red Records. > En savoir plus sur le nouvel album

Si Chardeau n'existait pas, il faudrait l'inventer !